Peaceful, Just and Inclusive Societies


The Center on International Cooperation co-founded and currently hosts the Pathfinders for Peaceful, Just and Inclusive Societies, a multi-stakeholder partnership that brings together UN member states, international organizations, civil society, and the private sector to accelerate delivery of the SDG targets for peace, justice and inclusion.



The Pathfinders are a group of 38 UN member states, international organizations, global partnerships, civil society, and the private sector. Contact us to explore membership of new Pathfinder countries and other partners.


We work to accelerate action to implement the SDG targets for peace, justice, and inclusion (SDG16+). In September 2017, the Pathfinders launched the Roadmap for Peaceful, Just and Inclusive Societies, which is also available in French and Spanish. An updated version was published at the High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development in July 2019.

Following the first SDG Summit in September 2019, the Pathfinders continue to act as a platform for action. We aim to demonstrate measurable change against the SDG16+ targets in Pathfinder countries by the second summit in 2023 by working on three objectives:

  • National delivery: increase national ambition, coherence, innovation, and reporting, so that a growing number of Pathfinder countries fulfill commitments to implement SDG16+

  • International delivery: strengthen strategies and momentum at international and regional levels, so that partners more effectively support implementation of elements of the roadmap

  • Grand challenges: use three "grand challenges" to build ambition and as a focus for learning, increasing political will, and strengthening strategies for promoting justice for all, preventing violence, and tackling exclusion and inequality

For more information, visit


Current list of Pathfinders

Afghanistan, Argentina, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Canada, Central African Republic, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Indonesia, Ireland, Jordan, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, United Kingdom, and Uruguay.

International organizations and global partnerships supporting the Pathfinders for Peaceful, Just and Inclusive Societies

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, United Nations Development Programme, UN Global Compact, UN Habitat, UNICEF, United Nations Office at Geneva, United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, UN Women, World Bank.

16+ Forum, Alliance 8.7, g7+, Geneva Peacebuilding Platform, Global Alliance for Reporting Progress on Peaceful, Just, and Inclusive Societies, Global Partnership for the Prevention of Armed Conflict, Global Partnership to End Violence Against Children, Namati, Open Government Partnership, Transparency, Accountability & Participation (TAP) Network.

Partners for the grand challenge on justice

Bingham Centre on the Rule of Law, Cordaid, The Elders, Hague Institute for Innovation of Law, The International Center for Transitional Justice, International Development Law Organization, International Development Research Centre, International Legal Assistance Consortium, the Justice for All Campaign, Knowledge Platform Security & Rule of Law, Microjustice4All, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, Namati, Overseas Development Institute, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Open Government Partnership, Open Society Justice Initiative, University of South Carolina Rule of Law Collaborative, United Nations Development Programme, United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, UNODC – INEGI Center of Excellence, UN Women, White & Case LLP, World Bank, World Justice Project.

Partners for the grand challenge on inequality and exclusion

CIVICUS, Georgetown Institute for Women Peace and Security, Global Centre for Pluralism, International Trade Union Confederation, Inuka Foundation, Jasmine Foundation, New School for Social Research, Open Society Foundations, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Oxfam, United Nations, World Bank.

Financial and in-kind support

The Pathfinders for Peaceful, Just and Inclusive Societies have received generous financial support from the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Canadian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands’ Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the German Federal Foreign Office, the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development, the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, the Government of Sweden, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, Open Society Foundations, Together for Girls, the UK Department for International Development, and the World Bank Group Partnership Fund.